A Canvas…

When it comes to makeup, that’s really what your face is…a Canvas…blank and open to all sorts of possibilities. 

When it comes to any artist’s canvas it’s important that it is clean, free of surface dirt. Now it does not have to be blemish free because let’s face it, for some of us gals and pals, acne is a fact of life. There are products out there that can help with this and as we go along I will feature a few of these products, whether it be for facial acne or for body acne. 

Finding a cleanser that’s right for you is the first task at hand. Not everyone has the same skin, not really. 

There is dry skin, oily skin, combination skin, the ever elusive ‘Normal’ skin – what exactly does normal skin look like anyway? And of course for us mature (and not so mature) ladies…the aging skin. 

Our skin changes with our health levels, the weather, where we live and our age. 

For example: I live in Calgary, it’s part foothills, part bald-ass prairie, it’s fairly dry. I lived in Medicine Hat, which although settled around the South Saskatchewan River, is pretty much in the bad lands of S. Alberta, it’s arid to say the least, basically drier than a popcorn fart. So living in the dry climate that I do, my skin drys out quickly, so cleaning my face with a cleanser that is meant to remove excess oils would be disastrous for my skin. As I am now a lady of 40, I also have to keep in mind that while I still look youthful my skin’s needs are changing. 

Second example is my mom, who in her early 70’s, and lives in Calgary as well, will have different skin cleansing needs from me. 

Pretty much every conventional product line has their basic cleansing routine: Cleanser; Toner; Moisturizer. Add-ons will include but aren’t limited to Exfoliate creams/gels; serums and specialty creams. Usually you’re encouraged to purchase all the ‘required’ products from that line, and conceivably its to ensure ‘results.’  

A word on results: you will need to use the product EVERYDAY for 30 days without interruption before you’ll see any results, that’s the fine print, you may see a slight improvement immediately after the first use, but if you want actual results it takes 30 days aka 4 weeks. 

If you’ve been using the same cleanser for years, it may be time to re-evaluate your skin to see if what you are currently using is still the right product for you. 

Author: Killertomatoe

I Know Who I Am... Who Am I To You...?

Leave a Reply

